BIDEFORD TOWN COUNCIL



Town Hall Bideford Devon EX39 2HS

Telephone: Bideford (01237) 428817/8

Heather J Blackburn BA (Hons), IPD, IAM Town Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer

30 September 2020

To: Members of the Decarbonisation and Environment Committee and <u>Emergency Planning Working Group</u>

You are hereby summoned to attend an on-line Meeting of the **Decarbonisation and Environment Committee** of the above-named Council to be held via Zoom, on **Tuesday 13 October 2020 at 6.30 pm** for the purpose of transacting the following business.

In accordance with The Public Bodies (Admissions to Meetings) Act 1960 members of the public are welcome to attend and should contact the Town Clerk via telephone or email townclerk@bideford-tc.gov.uk to gain the access code to the meeting. There is a legal right to film/record/photograph/report public meetings.

Richard Coombes for Clerk to the Council

AGENDA

- 1. To receive apologies and reasons for absence.
- 2. To receive declarations of interest on items on the agenda and note any requests for dispensation received by the Clerk prior to the meeting.
- 3. Public participation session of 15 minutes duration on items on the agenda.
- 4. To approve the minutes of the Meeting held on 22 September 2020 as a correct record.

Enc

- 5. To establish the extent of the threat to Bideford from sea water inundation or erosion of the historic landfill on Northam Burrows due to the predicted sea level rise shown in the coastal.climatecentral.org model.
 - a. Summary of present situation by the chair.
 - b. Additional information provided by invited stakeholders.
 - c. What further information is required to establish severity and probability of the threat to Bideford?

- d. Research options and possibilities on establishing the threat, offered by invited academics.
- e. What mitigation or adaption options should be explored further?

f. Where we go from here.

RENEWABLE ENERGY GENERATION COMMITTEE

Councillors: J Craigie Mrs R Craigie Mrs Hellyer

J Herron J McKenzie R Wootton

EMERGENCY PLANNING WORKING GROUP

Councillors: P Christie (Town Mayor) D Bushby Mrs J Gubb

Mrs S Langford C Hawkins D Ratcliff